Sonic Prophecy – ‘Savage Gods’ album review

Band: Sonic Prophecy
Album: Savage Gods
Release Date: 19th January, 2018
Label: Rockshots Music



Review by Sean

Fans of video games that make you want to tear your hair out in rage will recognise some of Sonic Prophecy’s earlier work, as some of it featured in the immensely rage quit-able ‘Volgarr the Viking’. For those that don’t know that game, or those who forced themselves to forget it for the sake of their sanity, they’re a band that hail from Salt Lake City, Utah, and they play a style of traditional metal forged with the steel of power metal.  And with that, let’s get on to talking about whether this album is worth your time or not. (spoiler alert: Yarp)

The intro definitely reminds me of something that Jon Schaffer (Iced Earth) would conceive, and he’d be proud of this, especially as it launches you into the main body of title track, ‘Savage Gods’, guitarists Darrin Goodman and Sebastian Martin giving us a twin attack full of furious energy, while the vocals of Shane Provstgaard soar majestically throughout, giving us a reminder of what proper metal should be. It should be noted that what I hear here is something I don’t hear too often in bands these days, a real dark edge to their music, and not to make the comparison again so soon (because it’ll happen a lot throughout this review) but there really is an Iced Earth style to this. John Greely would be proud of these vocals.

‘Night Terror’ carries us on from the opener, the signature brooding style, and Shane takes things up a notch on vocals, giving his all, with some excellent backing from the engine room of drummer Matt LeFevre and bassist Ron Zemanek. (See below for the video for this track.)
Next though we have ‘Unholy Blood’, kicking you in the knackers with a scorching solo before winding down into a more melodic pace. If you love your traditional metal, speed metal, or power metal, this is for you. If you don’t, get fucked.
‘In Dreaming Of The Storm’ takes us to a darker place, really working hard to dig itself into your skull and remind you that metal can be brutal without slaughtering pigs, but countering that we move right on into the Accept inspired ‘Man The Guns’, complete with Ron sounding very much like Steve Harris doing his trademark galloping bass, the drums blasting away expertly, the guitars singing how only 80’s metal can, and the actual singing being done with aplomb.

For those of us that love our harmony and more melodious metal, we get to ‘Walk Through The Fire’, the band really coming together to keep the energy going while not going too over the top, it’s a surefire favourite of mine, and another favourite is ‘A Prayer Before Battle’, its epicness the perfect soundtrack to proper battle, Shane calling on the god of metal Matt Barlow to guide his voice in this one, taking us towards the Golden Hall.
‘Iron Clad Heart’ is another blinder, and at this point, if you’re not impressed by this band, then I’m sorry, but I don’t know what to tell you. Maybe call your loved ones, tell them that you’re dead inside, and need a soul transplant, ASAP. It’s as if Maiden did a tour with Iced Earth, and on the tour, backstage while waiting to go out, both bands decided to write something. It is majestic.A sound to behold.

Bringing us home are closers ‘Man and Machine’ and ‘Chasing The Horizon’, the former, honestly, the weak point of the album, but don’t let that make it sound like it’s a bad track, it’s just that the rest of the album is THAT good. The latter is an amazing farewell to the album. A proper, good old fashioned power metal speaker buster that if you don’t listen to it at full blast, you have no heart.

Belting from start to close, I can’t recommend this enough. It’s certainly gonna be up there in that album of the year discussion.




Track Listing:
01. Savage Gods
02. Night Terror
03. Unholy Blood
04. Dreaming Of The Storm
05. Man The Guns
06. Walk Through The Fire
07. A Prayer Before Battle
08. Iron Clad Heart
09. Man and Machine
10. Chasing The Horizon


Visit the band on Facebook:

Get the album here: