Iconsburn – ‘For All We Lost’ EP review

Band: Iconsburn
EP: For All We Lost
Release Date: Out now
Label: Self Released



Review by John

Every now and again, I’ll get asked to review something from a band that I have never heard before and therefore have to come at completely blind.
South coast metallers Iconsburn (who hail from near Stonehenge, but are never in danger of being crushed by a dwarf) are one such example, so I had no idea what to expect from their debut EP ‘For All We Lost’.

Opener ‘Symbol Of 8’ took me completely by surprise, but in the best possible way.   With the kind of crunching noise metal sound that I’ve not heard since early Will Haven.  In fact, over recent years, Will Haven have struggled to sound so good.  With piercing, angsty vocals married to a blistering metalcore sound, ‘Symbol Of 8’ is the kind of opening gambit that makes the listener sit up and take notice.
From this point onwards, over the course of its 5 tracks, ‘For All We Lost’ is never in danger of losing your attention.
‘Hand Of The Scribe’, with its aural assault of blast beats and screams is an insanely catchy number with an impressive array of variety, while ‘Make Your Peace’, despite what its title may suggest, is a 100mph onslaught of insane hardcore brutality.  Peace is certainly never an option here.Things continue with the sludgier sound of ‘Once Again’ a brilliantly understated yet heavy as hell number that sounds like Crowbar and Pantera fighting over the last piece of chocolate cake.
After a beautifully melodic introduction, final track ‘Shades Of Slumber’ takes the varying styles from the previous 4 offerings and blends them into one perfect whole.

Overall, ‘For All We Lost’ is a highly impressive debut that demands to be heard.  In the course of a week, I have gone from never having heard of Iconsburn to putting them high up on my list of bands I need to see live.
Loud, heavy and blisteringly intense, you could do a lot worse than check it out.




Track Listing:
1. Symbol Of 8
2. Hand Of The Scribe
3. Make Your Peace
4. Once Again
5. Shades Of Slumber

Visit the band on Facebook: www.facebook.com/ICONSBURN